Coverart for item
The Resource A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery, Catriona McPherson

A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery, Catriona McPherson

Label
A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery
Title
A deadly measure of brimstone
Title remainder
a Dandy Gilver mystery
Statement of responsibility
Catriona McPherson
Title variation
Dandy Gilver and a deadly measure of brimstone
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • ""Highly recommended for fans of Downton Abbey." --G.M. Malliet, Agatha Award-winning author the Max Tudor mysteries In A Deadly Measure of Brimstone, Dandy and the whole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious-- and deadly--events. The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and pleurisy. The family repairs to the town of Moffat, there to submit to the galvanic wraps and cold salt rubs of the splendid Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel. But all is not well at the Hydro, and the secret of the lady who arrived but never left cannot be kept for long. And what of those drifting shapes in the Turkish bath? Just steam shifting in the air? Probably. But in this town the dead can be as much trouble as the living. "--
  • "Catriona McPherson's critically acclaimed mystery series set in 1920s Scotland and featuring plucky and laugh-out-loud-funny heroine Dandy Gilver is perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie. In this new book, Dandy and thewhole Gilver clan travel to a spa town for a weekend of relaxation which is quickly interrupted by a slew of mysterious - and deadly - events. The men of the Gilver family have come down, between them, with influenza, bronchitis, pneumonia and pleurisy. The family repairs to the Borders town of Moffat, there to submit to the galvanic wraps and cold salt rubs of the splendid Laidlaw Hydropathic Hotel. But all is not well at the Hydro, and the secret of the lady who arrived but never left cannot be kept for long. And what of those drifting shapes in the Turkish bath? Just steam shifting in the air? Probably. But in this town the dead can be as much trouble as the living. "--
Member of
Summary
Spending a week at a luxury therapy spa when members of their family contract various ailments, Dandy and the Gilver clan confront the secrets of a longtime guest and mysterious drifting shapes in the Turkish baths
Storyline
Pace
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Anthony Award for Best Paperback Original, 2014.
  • Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award, 2015.
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10379446
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
823/.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6113.C586
LC item number
D43 2014
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Series statement
A Dandy Gilver mystery
Series volume
[book 8]
Target audience
adult
http://bibfra.me/vocab/lite/titleRemainder
a Dandy Gilver mystery
Label
A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery, Catriona McPherson
Instantiates
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • Series numeration from Fantastic fiction
  • "A Thomas Dunne book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
20358831
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First U.S. Edition.
Extent
291 pages
Isbn
9781250053978
Lccn
2014027777
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(DLC)BK0014391794
Label
A deadly measure of brimstone : a Dandy Gilver mystery, Catriona McPherson
Publication
Copyright
Note
  • Series numeration from Fantastic fiction
  • "A Thomas Dunne book."
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
20358831
Dimensions
22 cm.
Edition
First U.S. Edition.
Extent
291 pages
Isbn
9781250053978
Lccn
2014027777
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(DLC)BK0014391794

Library Locations

    • Kewanna-Union Township Public LibraryBorrow it
      210 E. Main St., Kewanna, IN, 46939, US
      41.018748 -86.412902

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...